Eskojones' FL Adventures

• eskojones
      eskojones
      Bronze
      Eskojones' FL Adventures

This will be my blog relating to my experiences with Poker, first a bit about me:
      Name: Duncan

Up until now...
      Around May last year I became interested in Poker (HE precisely) after a friend linked me to a blog regarding how to build a Poker Bot (computer program to play online poker rooms without human interaction). While I am a programmer, the 'art' of the game itself appealed to me more (No, I do not have/use bots) and so I decided to read some basics and began playing on PokerStars for playmoney, at around 40k chips I realised how stupid everyone was playing because there was no real risk so everyone just ended up calling to the river to see what you had anyway.

Because of this, I quickly made an agreement with myself that I would deposit $10 into PS and play the micro-stakes FL ring games to work on my general game -- with the understanding that if I lost $10 at 2c/4c it would be back-to-the-drawing-board for me (and no subsequent deposits until much later).

I broke even in most of my sessions, but then computer games took over my interests once again and my interest in poker died off -- Until around two weeks ago when I realised I'm quite bored of first-person shooters and World of Warcraft. I think Google found PokerStrategy for me, and so I brushed off my brain a little and passed the quiz to see what the deal with this $50 bankroll was (I figured there was a catch :) ). Amazed to wake up the next day and find $50 in my FTP account, I was given a ton of motivation to really get on top of my game!

So in advance, thanks PokerStrategy -- and I'll be posting my progress as the story unfolds. :D

Since joining PS and studying...