[NL2-NL10] NL20 very bad SSS play

• chickenx
      Since this is my first post, I want to say hello, I'm Chris, a romanian living in London and I started playing online poker about 3 weeks ago(I know).
      I try to stick to SSS, but sometimes I get carried away and not follow the basic rules and do stupid mistakes, like this one:

SB: $3.16
      BB: $3.63
      Hero: $7.14

0.1/0.2 No-Limit Hold'em (8 handed)

Preflop: Hero is MP2 with Kh, Qh
      2 folds, Hero calls $0.20, 3 folds, SB calls $0.10, BB raises to $3.63 (All-In), Hero calls $3.43, SB raises to $3.16 (All-In).

Flop: ($10.42) 4d, 3d, 8c
      Turn: ($10.42) 3c
      River: ($10.42) 9h

Final Pot: $10.42

Results follow :
      Hero shows a pair of threes (Kh Qh)
      SB shows a pair of threes (Ah Qd)
      BB shows a pair of threes (Ad Kc)

BB wins with a pair of threes (Ad Kc)

Now, if I had a look at the charts before playing the hand, I'd knew that KQs is not a hand to play from any position, specially after the big raise, but being suited made my mind to take unnecessary risks.
      The 2 other players, regarding their position, made me think they could also play lower cards from 77+ witch gave me more chances, but just now I realize how bad my thinking was.
      I still think that only the winner played by the book with AK from late position or the blinds, but the other one went AQ all in with a raise in front of him.

I have more bad hands :) ) but this one I found it more interesting because of the outcome, it shows how you can win (tight but a win is a win) if you stick to the SSS, at least the basic rules.

Any comments are welcome!
  • 3 replies
    • veriz

If you want to play your hand then don't limp, raise it up but in this situation I'd prefer to fold the hand and wait till I am at late position with such hand.

Best regards,
    • dandycal
      Hi chickenx,