SnG VS "normal" poker

• jack12344
      jack12344
      Global
      Ok here is situation, I got $50 from ps and burned everything :D Until I had 0.25c left.

Then I joined $500 freeroll tournament and won about ~$1 ( finished 17th of 7000 )

After this I started playing sng and almost always finished between first #3 ... I even won few times.
      In 2 days I increased my bankroll back to $50 ( From $1 ) :D Just by playing sng's.

But my problem is: My friends who play online poker for long time keep saying to me that playing "normal-regular" poker is way more profitable and am just lucky right now

What do you think, shall I continue playing sng or start playing "regular" tables :D ?

thanks
  • 14 replies
    • wasy8
      wasy8
      Black
      If you are good at SNGs then they are definitely profitable. I play almost exclusively 9-man sngs and have built my bankroll from $8 to approx. $330 right now.

You have to play what you are best at : see boku87 on pokerstars.
    • cannell555
      cannell555
      Bronze
      Hi jack12344,

Simple answer: Your friends know nothing! Ignore them imo!

Regards,
      Stiev
    • Kimber88
      Kimber88
      Bronze
      Originally posted by jack12344

But my problem is: My friends who play online poker for long time keep saying to me that playing "normal-regular" poker is way more profitable and am just lucky right now
      Well. This guy seems to have made a lot of money on SnG's. And I don't think his winnings are based on that much luck ;)

• dadude77
      dadude77
      Bronze
      Both can def be profitable!! Do whichever comes better for you, and more importantly which one you enjoy! :)
    • jack12344
      jack12344
      Global
      wow thanks for all replys ;)

@Kimber88 is this screen "real" :D ? And "games played" does this mean he played 40.000 SnG's ? :P
    • Alverine
      Alverine
      Bronze
      Originally posted by Kimber88
      Originally posted by jack12344