Do mistakes cost more than variance at low limits?

• AussieIan
      AussieIan
      Bronze
      Ok, figured it's about time to try writing a blog to keep track of my poker life, and hopefully not bore people too much at the same time. As something a little different, i'm not just going to keep updating my bankroll, but also how much money i throw away through silly decisions each day. I'm sure we all make them occasionally, but i think it could be an eye opener to see just how much we lower level players throw the fishies back into the water!!

I currently play on 2 sites, NL FR on Titan using the capital provided by PS, and micro MTT and SNG on Gnuf, where i started by winning money in freerolls. My current balances are Titan - $165 (playing 4 table SSS NL10/20 and every so often 1 table NL10 BSS) and Gnuf - $227 ($1.10 MTT and $2.75 20 man SNG).

A brief(ish) history......i started playing live in a league in Australia in 2006, where it's free to play and you earn points for higher finishes to qualify for a quarterly final with a prize of $10 000 or a trip to a WPT/WSOP event with your entry paid for. These games are a bit of a crapshoot, with people having no idea what they're doing, and the hands played reflecting this. While it can be an enjoyable night out, it's not really poker and did nothing to help my poker education (apart from get me used to a variety a bad beats :D ). Currently i'm in the UK, enjoying the higher number of people at the tables when i'm actually awake. :)

At this time, i was also playing freerolls online, and occasionally lucked a place here and there, but the bankrolls never exceeded $10 and never lasted long. Then with article readings here, and correct BRM, i've slowly built my account on Gnuf over the last 18 months, playing freerolls till i had $5, then starting out with $0.11 SNG and slowly building.