question

• pokerstijl
      pokerstijl
      Bronze
      Hello,

I'm new playing poker for money.
      I played a lot of free games (for atleast half a year), and when i did it was always sng.
      Also played a few tournements with my friends for money, but never online.

I have read a few books.
      Passed the quiz.
      So i'm know i'm not near the best player around, but i know how to play poker.

I started playing poker for money, last week.
      But i don't really like the cash games i lost more than won,
      (well not totaly true i was making a profit but got too excited and made some expensive mistakes :rolleyes: -$50) but i don't feel very good.

So i started to play sng to win back my money.
      Yesterday evening i got even again (+$0.38)
      (got my first straight flush yesterday also 5 to 9 :spade: :D )

Its probetly the problem that i don't like to play a big hand at cash games, since you will lose in money what you bet (or win ofcourse), if the bet gets to high i get afraid, people can bluff me away.
      In sng you get points, that feels way better, small(er) change of bluffing me away there.

But in the topic sng i saw that beginners should avoid sng why is that?

edit:
      Do you also get points by playing sng?
  • 3 replies
    • Stefan1000
      Stefan1000
      Bronze
      1) To start SNG's you should have a Bankroll of 75 Buy Ins. The smallest buy-in fpr SNG's at PartyPoker is $3 so you need a starting Bankroll of $225.
      Some say 30 Buy-ins is enough but it is not enough when you just started and are playing on the lowest limit. To hold off a downswing you should have 75 buy-ins available. But even 30 buy ins at a $3 SNG needs a $90 Bankroll.

2) Personal Opinion: For SNG's you need more experience about Hand Rankings and Reading the Board/Opponent. Experience you only get by playing Cash Games.

I highly recommend every beginner NOT to start with SNG's.