AK vs KK

    • jorkata80
      jorkata80
      Bronze
      Joined: 23.08.2008 Posts: 60
      $0.05/$0.1 No-Limit Hold'em (5 handed)

      Known players:
      CO = ($13.74)
      BU = ($13.21)
      SB = ($3.70)
      BB(Hero) = ($3.90)
      MP3 = ($10.20)

      Preflop: Hero is BB with K, K.
      MP3 raises to $0.35, 3 folds, Hero raises to $0.8, MP3 calls $0.45.

      Flop: ($1.65) A, 3, 2 (2 players)
      Hero checks, MP3 bets $1.20, Hero raises to $3.1, MP3 calls $1.90.

      Turn: ($7.85) K (2 players)

      River: ($7.85) A (2 players)

      Final Pot: $7.85.
      Results follow:

      MP3 shows a full-house, aces full of kings (K A)
      Hero shows a full-house, kings full of aces (K K)

      MP3 wins with a full-house, aces full of kings (K A).
  • 14 replies
    • maya1984
      maya1984
      Bronze
      Joined: 18.12.2008 Posts: 1,741
      You should try to post the hand in the Sample Hands BSS - NL5 to NL10 | as of Bronze section.

      Preflop make it 0.95 or just 1$
      On the turn you either should have just called or fold. If it's a bluff let him bluff again on the turn. If you think he has an ace just fold.
      And as the other players here will tell you - don't post the villain's hand.
      Good Luck!
    • nafar84
      nafar84
      Bronze
      Joined: 20.09.2008 Posts: 546
      Why are you sitting with $3.90? What kind of strategy is that?
    • Mstlc
      Mstlc
      Bronze
      Joined: 14.03.2009 Posts: 4,676
      Originally posted by nafar84
      Why are you sitting with $3.90? What kind of strategy is that?
      A bad one...

      Either play SSS or play BSS and buy-in to 100BB's and turn on auto rebuy.
    • MrMardyBum
      MrMardyBum
      Bronze
      Joined: 14.03.2009 Posts: 2,206
      Could of been SSS and he just doubled through and was waiting for blinds to sit out.....
    • Knibblord
      Knibblord
      Bronze
      Joined: 15.03.2009 Posts: 1
      With SSS you should have folded after MP3's raise on the flop. You were not committed to the pot.

      Regarding MP3 raised being on middle-position the chances of him hitting the Ace were not too bad.
    • TribunCaesar
      TribunCaesar
      Bronze
      Joined: 29.04.2007 Posts: 13,264
      Nice cooler
    • kingdippy2008
      kingdippy2008
      Bronze
      Joined: 30.08.2008 Posts: 2,107
      +1

      Just a HU tribun, near 10000 posts! [box] ^^
    • MancaMulas
      MancaMulas
      Bronze
      Joined: 12.03.2009 Posts: 4,491
      Originally posted by Knibblord
      With SSS you should have folded after MP3's raise on the flop. You were not committed to the pot.

      Regarding MP3 raised being on middle-position the chances of him hitting the Ace were not too bad.
      In Short Stack Strategy, you never fold pocket Aces or pocket Kings!
    • NightFrostaSS
      NightFrostaSS
      Bronze
      Joined: 25.10.2008 Posts: 5,255
      Originally posted by MancaMulas
      Originally posted by Knibblord
      With SSS you should have folded after MP3's raise on the flop. You were not committed to the pot.

      Regarding MP3 raised being on middle-position the chances of him hitting the Ace were not too bad.
      In Short Stack Strategy, you never fold pocket Aces or pocket Kings!
      Things changes as stack sizes increase.
    • MancaMulas
      MancaMulas
      Bronze
      Joined: 12.03.2009 Posts: 4,491
      yes, but in SSS you leave the table when your stack reaches 25 Big Blinds. If you're playing with more than that, it's not SSS
    • MrMardyBum
      MrMardyBum
      Bronze
      Joined: 14.03.2009 Posts: 2,206
      Originally posted by MancaMulas
      yes, but in SSS you leave the table when your stack reaches 25 Big Blinds. If you're playing with more than that, it's not SSS
      I play SSS, and I sit until the blinds reach me, I've paid to be in the round and see 9 hands of poker so I am seeing them.

      And you can apply the SSS after you double up, in most cases the standard raise once there is an active pot is 2/3 therefore you can play very well. And if you need to go all in, you do so only with the hands that are in the SHC. It's not rocket science.....
    • StusMagic
      StusMagic
      Bronze
      Joined: 05.01.2009 Posts: 187
      Originally posted by MrMardyBum
      Originally posted by MancaMulas
      yes, but in SSS you leave the table when your stack reaches 25 Big Blinds. If you're playing with more than that, it's not SSS
      I play SSS, and I sit until the blinds reach me, I've paid to be in the round and see 9 hands of poker so I am seeing them.

      And you can apply the SSS after you double up, in most cases the standard raise once there is an active pot is 2/3 therefore you can play very well. And if you need to go all in, you do so only with the hands that are in the SHC. It's not rocket science.....
      he was talking to op coz op posted bb with 3.9$ stack and didnt leave
    • NiekamNeidomu
      NiekamNeidomu
      Bronze
      Joined: 29.05.2007 Posts: 307
      conti flop o.o ? and if he calls/ raises give up with the hand o.o?
    • delete461
      delete461
      Bronze
      Joined: 04.07.2008 Posts: 1,036
      Originally posted by MrMardyBum
      Could of been SSS and he just doubled through and was waiting for blinds to sit out.....
      ...Hero posted BB in this hand, so should not have played it under SSS rules
      5-handed is not SSS anyway

      preflop raise is too light, checkraise on flop with 2nd pair makes no sense at all

      Id say badly played all round