Confused about the SSS

• FaithKoala
      FaithKoala
      Bronze
      Hey,

I have a question regarding the Short Stack strategy that you suggest. I am not completely new to poker, but I am new to PS and to this strict SSS. So what I was wondering is if it is normal that within 650 raked hands now following this strategy on 0,05/0,10 NL 10$ tables my stack has gone from 50 to 40 to 50 to 35 now back to 50. Is that normal for this strategy ?

I guess what seems so strange to me is that at one point I had lost 30% of my stack in such a short time even though I followed the strategy. Of course I realise that no strategy is going to keep me from having bad beats, but I get the feeling that if what I can make from a table is just ,50$ before I leave then I am not fully capitalising on the fact that I actually am favored and the bad beats everyone gets will just keep the bankroll from growing where it could grow.
  • 15 replies
    • Alaton
      Alaton
      Black
      Going from 50$ down to 35$ equals losing 7 or 8 SSS-Stacks.
      This is nothing to worry about and will happen to you all the time playing poker, no matter what strategy you will apply.

The advantage of the Shortstackstrategy is, simply put, the reduction and simplification of your postflop decisions.
      This grants you with the ability to beat even much better opponents than you could by playing bigstack (playing with a full stack).
      If you are sure being better than your opponents on the current level you should play bigstack, but in most cases its the much better choice to start with the easiest way to play, which is SSS for NL.

Good luck at the tables!
    • FaithKoala
      FaithKoala
      Bronze
      Thanks for the answer. If you think about going down to 35 from 50 as stacks then losing 7 or 8 in a row really doesn't seem too weird, I guess I just didn't think about it at that point.