When does it start to happen?

• jo3lemon

I've been playing turbo $1 sng at Party for 2 months - roughly 600 tournaments. My BR has been up to $70 and down to $30. I adhere closely to the strategy on this site and I get round about 90% on the ICM trainer. All in all I'm doing kind of OK given the rake and the style of play at Party, I'm ITM maybe 50% but I never feel like I control the games. I get the impression from experienced players on here that any one of them could waltz into the level I play and completely dominate - not winning every tournament necessarily, but with a high expectation of getting ITM.

I realise 500 tournaments is nothing in the scheme of things but I was just wondering what kind of progress you should expect to make. Say after 1000 tourneys does something click into place? Do situations come up that you recognise and know instinctively how to play? Or am I (and I suspect this may be the case) destined to be grinding the micro limits forever?
  • 3 replies
    • LuborC
      The thing with the microlimits is that there is doulbe rake compared to higher limits at most sites. This leads to not only lower winrate obviously but with lower ROI also come bigger swings.
      600 tournaments in not big enough sample size to determine if you actually beating this limit or if you are losing slightly. Whichever be the case I think you are probably pretty close to breakeven which is really good actually. This basically means that any leak you plug and any finetunning of your game you do will bring you money in the long run.
      There is no point where everything would click into it's place and you would only win from now on. At least there has not been one for me so far. You have to keep working on your game trying to improve the little things and after a while you'll see that you're beating the game.