Probability question/riddle

• epaga
      epaga
      Bronze
      Just played a 6-player SNG and won it.

In the SNG I encountered two coinflip situations (e.g. AK vs QQ) where I would have busted before the bubble if I had lost, and (obviously) won both of them.

Now I got to thinking: doesn't this mean this SNG was basically -EV for me? 3 out of 4 times I would have had $0, only the 1 time out of 4 did I still have a chance (and not even a sure chance at that!) to make any money.

Now obviously coinflip situations are a very common occurrence but good players still play +EV SNGs...so where is the error in my thinking?
  • 8 replies
    • EagleStar88
      EagleStar88
      Bronze
      I'm not really an expert on such things to be honest epaga, but there are some great articles on the subject of EV etc in the strategy guides (both NL & SnG's).

I'm sure a more experienced/better qualified member will come up with some calcs/advice/experience shortly though.

Congrats on your win :s_thumbsup:

Bart
    • LgWz
      LgWz
      Black
      You should calculate the equity you had against the opponent's range, and not vs the particular hand he had... let's say you get QQ vs AK all in preflop, it's a flip... but he might go all the way with hands that you have crushed such as AQ or JJ, etc.
    • andreibalint
      andreibalint
      Bronze
      Not a big player nor a math geek but I know this: Different hands in poker are independent. That means (logically) that they don't have any connection between them. And one of the few useful things I learned in my universty is how to calculate odds of this kind of events...
      I don't know how to incorporate this in SnG's but in a purely statistical manner you were 50% * 50% = 25% favourite to win both hands. You just multiply the probabilities.