FL FR vs SH for beginner.

• mChavez
      Hi all!

I've started playing FL 0.25/0.5 recently and I'm doing allrightish on FR now. I work on my game and it seems to become better.

However, I prefer to play 1 table a time, so I'm thinking of switching to SH, so I won't be getting so bored.

Is there much difference between FR and SH? Should I have more practice in FR before switching to SH, cause I'm just a beginner.

• 4 replies
    • Schnitzelfisch
      Hello mChaves!

SH compared to FR is a bit looser game, a fishier game with less TAGs and it brings you more HU situations, which means it is good to know the standard playing styles well.

I do not think it is neccessary to play FR before playing SH, especially if you stick to the SHC and begin with playing one table, it shouldn't be hard. I can advise you to concentrate on getting reads and notes on every oponnent on the table, this way your winrate should be quite nice.

Good luck with SH and I'll see you in the hand evaluation section!

• ciRith
      Hi mChavez,

SH is a much more aggressive game. You are in a lot more hands and a lot of them are really close. So if you are not 100% confident with your postflopgame right now at FR then stay to FR a bit longer.

It's very important to read all SH articles and post many hands (especially where you folded as you fold more at FR and it's hard to calldwon with mediocre hands in the beginning).

As you play more margnal hands your variance will be higher too. Don't be upset if you lose a stack within 5 minutes. Because of the higher losses the risk to start tilting is higher. I advise you to make a stop loss in the beginning. Let's say you stop whenever you lost more than 50BB.
    • phiRO

I've just started playing FL and am finding that there aren't many/any FR tables available during the day[CET] at everest. Therefore I am now starting to play more SH.

Anyways now some questions to FR vs SH: