My evolution at NL BSS super-micro stakes

• 16 replies
    • andreibalint
      andreibalint
      Bronze
      Hello world! I decided to create this little corner of mine (and yours of course) to help me become a better player. I am generally kind of chatty so let's get started...

My name is Andrei and I live in Bucharest, Romania. And probably the worst thing about this country (there are a lot of them by the way) is that people earn to little money and because of that they work to little. The smallest sallaries in the EU, so nice...
      I am studying finances. 19 years old.

Also like trading forex, playing pool, snooker ( :f_biggrin: ), chess, or wasting my time at a coffe anywhere.

That should be enough, there isn't anything more astonishing about me to say i guess... So let's get down to business.
    • andreibalint
      andreibalint
      Bronze
      I play BSS at NL 1/2 (cents :D ) with a bankroll of about 100$. The main reason why I started this thread is because I am in a medium-sized downswing (10 buy-ins) and I want to know if I am doing the right thing because I don't feel that.

Because the players are so bad (I were surprised how good 10 cents SnG players are ) there are some hands that you don't know how good you played them. Nr1 hand that get's me crazy:

NL 1/2 Shorthanded, 100 blinds
      Unknown limps in early position, 200 blinds stack
      I raise on the button with 88 (not standard, but wanted to raise some money in case of hitting a set, or a better explanation is that I was tired), 4 BB
      Unknown calls.
      Flop is 2 :spade: 2 :heart: 7 :club:
      I bet 3/4 pot.
      Unknown goes almost instantly all in overbetting the pot 32:1
      Can't put him on anything but a bluff with 2 overcards and call.
      He shows 2 :diamond: 6 :diamond: and gets my money.
      Was that a horrible call?

So actually my question is when can you go broke with top pair or overpair?