[NL20-NL50] Nl25Sh - TT

• PetterG2
      Known players:

0,1/0,25 No-Limit Hold'em (5 handed)
      Hand recorder used for this poker hand: PokerStrategy Elephant 0.67 by www.pokerstrategy.com.

Preflop: Hero is BB with T:spade: , T:heart:
      2 folds, BU raises to $0,85, SB folds, Hero raises to $2,25, BU calls $1,40.

Flop: ($4,60) 5:diamond: , 8:diamond: , 6:club: (2 players)
      Hero bets $3,00, BU calls $3,00.

Turn: ($10,60) 9:diamond: (2 players)
      Hero bets $6,00, BU calls $6,00.

River: ($22,60) A:heart: (2 players)
      Hero checks, BU checks.

Final Pot: $22,60

I'm new to short handed, and I've seen through hands I've played and I see that situations like this one I lose most money from. 3-bettet TT-JJ which get called on the flop when I hold overpair. I feel like giving up on the turn is WAY to weak since a lot of people like to float hands like this on this limit (from what I have experienced at least). How should I play hands like this one? BU had JJ in this case FYI.
  • 3 replies
    • MaestroOfZerg

3bet him way bigger preflop, you're giving him incredible odds to just call and see a flop with anything remotely playable, especially if you're tight which means he can expect to have good implied odds against you. Plus this is a steal situation, so he might even call just to show you you can't always 3bet his steals. Make it like 3.5x his raise, or $3.

That's absolutely not the kind of flop you wanna see after giving him great odds to just flat any pocket pair preflop. Still you can't just start check-calling or you'll end up putting yourself in very tough spots playing a guessing game out of position. I would c-bet a little more to show him i mean business, maybe something like $3,6.