calling 3bets pf

• raun
      raun
      Bronze
      now i get it. gerv explained it too me a while ago so i dunno why it took me so long to understand how to put it to use.

basically i just give my opponent the 3bet range that i would give myself in the situation which is generous most often at nl25.

E.G:

i hold JJ utg.
      so i raise 1$, 7 fold, BB pushes 5$.

now if i was bb in this case i would only reraise a guy like myself in this spot with jj+ ak+.

so i calc my equity against this range and it is 37%

not i calc my pot odds and they are 40%

so in this case i would have to fold.

i know this is very basic but i am not good at math so could someone experienced please tell me if i have understood this correctly?
  • 14 replies
    • Dragar
      Dragar
      Bronze
      Wrong... BB in this case has a huge range to push since he is shortstack.

Don't focus on math that much (down to the exact %), you do not have the time while multi-tabling.

I would snap call in the described case.
    • raun
      raun
      Bronze
      interesting, i dont agree however. if he is intelligent he would see that i am a sss player raising from utg and take that into consideration.

is it because of the low limit you think that he would 3bet so loose?
    • raun
      raun
      Bronze
      The standard all-in conditions after a reraise are as follows:

Stack-Size : Size of the Raise

All-In with.. 5:1 or higher

JJ+,AKo/s

4.9:1 to 1.9:1

TT+,AQo/s+

2:1 or lower

77+,AJo/s+,KQo/s

i suppose according to this chart you are correct and we should indeed snap call.

unless we have identified the opponent as a real sss player in which case he should only have aa or kk if he is playing according to strategy
    • DaPhunk
      DaPhunk
      Bronze
      Stats! But I'm inclined to agree this guy plays SSS so i fold with bad pot odds.
    • Dragar
      Dragar
      Bronze
      Originally posted by raun