Tilting - How to avoid making wrong decisions?

• wilm
      wilm
      Bronze
      Hi there,

Instead off al the hands discussions i want to talk abouth another aspect of Poker. And i think that its something that we all struggle with as beginners. Im talking abouth Tilting here.

I have been playing for like 4 months now and i can really take badbeats and downswings. They are just part of the game and i have peace with that. But i discovered that sometimes wenn i for instance fold a hand wich i would have won in the end. I go on tilt. And there comes to biggest error that i make all the time. Wenn i am in this state. I cant fold a hand even wenn i know i should!

Let me show u an example:

PartyPoker 0.25/0.50 Limit Hold'em [color:#0000FF](9 handed)[/color] Recorded and converted with HandRecorder

Preflop: Hero is SB with J:heart: , A:heart:
      UTG+1 checks, UTG+2 calls, MP1 calls, [color:#666666]1 folds[/color], MP3 calls, [color:#666666]2 folds[/color], [color:#FF0000]Hero raises[/color], [color:#666666]1 folds[/color], UTG+1 calls, UTG+2 calls, MP1 calls, MP3 calls.

Flop: (10.00 SB) 6:heart: , 9:spade: , A:spade: [color:#0000FF](5 players)[/color]
      [color:#FF0000]Hero bets[/color], [color:#FF0000]UTG+1 raises[/color], [color:#FF0000]UTG+2 3-bets[/color], MP1 folds, MP3 folds, Hero calls, UTG+1 calls.

Seeing that im the pre-flop raiser i bet. Get raised. And someone 3bets it to me! This is in almost 90% off the time a clear fold. Why on earth did i called this al true the river while i know im beat? Why am i giving away my money to them? Well the thing is...this had something to do with a hand earlyer and ill try to describe it below.

Preflop: Me @ Late Position with QQ
      UTG raise. MP call. Hero 3-bet. UTG caps. MP calls.

Flop: 267
      UTG bets. I raise. He caps. I called and folded the turn unimproved.

UTG wins the hand with Ace High (AKo)