Smileyphil on Tournaments

• Smileyphil
      Hi everyone, Smileyphil here. I'm a maths student from North England. I love to climb, play piano, sit in the sun and most importantly play poker! :D

Poker History:
      Since coming to Pokerstrategy I have had a go at almost everything I can put my hand too. In March I played around 20k hands using BSS. Then I played around 50k hands of SSS to see how that worked. I have also played a decent amount of SnG's but I never got into that very much. I've made some money in my time but have generally withdrawn it to go buy beer :tongue: . Ah the life of a student...

Large Tournaments:
      In between I have always enjoyed a large tournament - more as recreation than for profit. However after discovering Sharkscope I realised that over my first 150 tourneys I have a ROI of 89%! I figured this was either a) pure luck or b) a brilliant and wasted skill. Its about time I played tournaments a bit more seriously and tried to find out which it is!

Bankroll Considerations:
      As it stands I have my Poker Bankroll split across the two big sites. I have $110 on Full Tilt and $130 on Pokerstars. So in total around $240. To start with I won't play any tournaments larger than $5. I am not sure exactly what sort of Bankroll Management is best for MTT's but if my money gets too low I can always do a bit of Short Stacking to lift it back up. I also have a free $40 on Pacific Poker but I have to wager a fair amount of cash before any withdrawals can take place. This will mostly be money for when I can't be bothered to play properly.

Pokerstars: $130.
      Full Tilt: $110.
      Pacific Poker: $40.

My Aims:
      - Don't start any tournaments I can't be bothered to finish.
      - Don't play any above $5 until I have a larger bankroll.
      - Play simply and enjoy it. Clever ploys and fancy moves are one thing but just playing a strong sucessful game is much more enjoyable.
      - Report back here every so often how its going.