Plo MTT strategy

• silent21
      silent21
      Global
      I am new to the plo mtt and i played one yester day and saw people plays very differently then the cash games.Saw pretty marginal calls and all ins and this tottaly change the style i am used to play in cash.

Could someone explain some tips or starting hands they way of playing in the stages i really have no clue how to act on these mtt.

Thank you in advance
  • 6 replies
    • OrcaAoc
      OrcaAoc
      Gold
      In low Buy In Omaha Mtts people are in general pretty bad. They splash to many chips in marginal Situations and overplay their hands extremly. This means a couple of things on how you should approach those things. First you should keep the pot small preflop as long as the blinds are relatively small. Even if you have Aces you should not automatically raise because its not all that fun to play unimproved Aces against a bunch of Donkeys that go to the river no matter what. So Hands that can make extremly powerful Holdings on the flop go up in Value because you will always paid of, on the other hand hands that can make second best holdings can be very tough to play since people will play so erratic that you never know if your second best holdings are good or not furthermore you wont be able to get to the showdown cheap as you wish with those holdings often.
      That means Suited Aces, connected high cards, High Pairs with connected cards are the hands that you want to be in with and you should avoid low rundowns or non Nut flushdraw cards as well as small and medium pairs, e.g. something like 6543ds or 7765ds is much worse than in a normal game.

After playing a while the biggest donks will bust out and many of those people who played very cautiosly will survive. At this point relative far into the tournament you can start to play alot more aggressiv because now you will face players who have some idea of the game but often will play to passively or are afraid to bust out.
    • silent21