Avoiding Tilt as a rookie: Multitabling.

• gedwashere91
      gedwashere91
      Bronze
      Hey guys,
      I just thought I'd throw this on the beginner's forum, because I really needed someone to tell me stuff like this when I started out.

Initially I started playing FL on micro limits, with $30 I put on my accoutn on PartyPoker. I lost a few dollars, won a dollar or two. Overall net loss on FL. I was trying to use the PokerStrategy guidelines but found the post-flop play guidelines to be too open to interpretation. The reality is that you need a reasonable understanding of Pot Odds to play FL post-flop well, in my opinion (and with my limited knowledge). This made it hard for me, as an absolute newbie to internet poker, to learn to play profitably. I tried SnG's and Tourneys briefly, with limited success. My main problem was that, sitting at a poker table for that long almost always brought out the gambler in me. I would tilt, not out of frustration (mostly), or rage, or desire for revenge, or to make up my losses, but because I thought "Well I might get lucky on this hand". Bad move.
      I have learned one valuable thing in my limited time here:
      Luck has a negative Expected Value.

So I swapped across to NL .01/.02, just to learn the SSS. It sounded cool, and lots of people talk about it on the forums. And FL got really boring (Too many calling stations, too much luck on the Turn and River. No folds to the strong hand on the flop). So I started playing the SSS, after reading all the articles (beginners ones in depth, and then a few reads of the Bronze articles. I need to re-read them again, though).