Is TAP a good style ??

• 6 replies
    • Stefan1000
      Stefan1000
      Bronze
      A tight aggressive preflop style is always correct.

but a more passive postflop style CAN be correct.

It is not the most profitable way to play but especially in NL on the micro limits especially beginners make more profit when playing a bit passive with marginal hands.

But since i know that you are playing Fixed Limit this won't be a lot of help.

I am also not an expert with the pokertracker names. So could you tell me your Aggresssion factor postflop (AF) ???

In general i can just tell you that you should not worry tooo much about the stats. Just try to play every hand correct and your stats will be ok too ;)

So what could be interesting for you are topics like continuation bets and semi bluffs.

In fixed it is a bit more important to play aggressive then in NL but even in fixed being a bit more passive can or even is a good way to play at the micro limits since a lot of players there are not capable of folding their hands. So playing aggressive with draws is not always the best way on the micro limits.

All in all i havent played for a long time on these limits but i guess that still most of your opponents are more passive. So beware when they show aggression but don't let them see the next card cheaply.

I know that this is just general "bla bla" but sorry i need a more detailed question to give you concret examples.

Best regards,
      Stefan
    • willfox
      willfox
      Bronze
      Ya I find a few people fold when I raise so maybe a bit more passive play needed at times but I dont want player getting a hand because I don't raise preflop..

My AF postflop is 1.21 ??
    • Stefan1000
      Stefan1000
      Bronze
      Of course preflop you should raise the hands mentioned in the SHC

Its been a while since i knew all the stats ;)

But i think its a bit low. We have to ask blinzler for that because he is coaching on these limits.