This site uses cookies to improve your browsing experience. By continuing to browse the website, you accept such cookies. For more details and to change your settings, see our Cookie Policy and Privacy Policy. Close

[NL2-NL10] NL25 AJo - Pot = 2x stack pre-flop

    • Spidey1978
      Spidey1978
      Bronze
      Joined: 25.07.2007 Posts: 358
      I know strategy says that if pot is over twice stack it is worth going all in but does that count pre-flop?

      Known players:
      Position:
      Stack
      UTG2:
      $34.60
      MP1:
      $34.49
      Hero:
      $4.65
      BU:
      $16.62

      0.1/0.25 No-Limit Hold'em (8 handed)
      Hand recorder used for this poker hand: Elephant 0.69 by www.pokerstrategy.com.

      Preflop: Hero is CO with J:club: , A:heart:
      UTG2 calls $0.25, MP1 calls $0.25, 2 folds, Hero raises to $1.50, BU calls $1.50, 2 folds, UTG2 raises to $4.25, MP1 folds, Hero calls $3.15 (All-In), BU folds, UTG2 calls $0.40.

      Flop: ($11.40) Q:club: , 5:spade: , 8:spade:
      Turn: ($11.40) J:spade:
      River: ($11.40) 9:diamond: (2 players)


      Final Pot: $11.40
  • 1 reply
    • burek2000
      burek2000
      Bronze
      Joined: 16.11.2007 Posts: 3,105
      Hey Spidey1978,

      preflop just follow the simple rules which are, go all-in with TT+/AK and fold everything else when there's a raise behind you. 2x stack is meant for postflop.

      However, if you wish a little more advanced preflop, then follow the rule from some old articles which tells you to go all-in based on the ratio between your raise and remaining stack as follows....

      ...if your ratio between raise and stack is 1:4 or higher, you go all-in with JJ+AK.
      ...if your ratio between raise and stack is between 1:2.5 and 1:4, you go all-in with TT+/AQ+.
      ...if your ratio between raise and stack is 1:2.5 or lower, you go all-in with every hand from SHC you raised with.

      ...according to this rule your ratio is 1:2.1 meaning it's correct to go all-in with AJ. But folding is also not wrong according to basic strategy articles.

      Regards,
      burek2000