what's better: flush draw or set?

• wickdclown
      wickdclown
      Bronze
      Once again i just lost a set to a river flush. I'm relatively new to poker, and i never did the math, but what is better? As I understand theoretically flush draw completes 1 time out of three, is that correct?

Now couple of examples:
      1.) You play 6handed NL10 ring game. You are UTG and you get pocket jacks. You make a standard raise, button calls. flop is 7J3 (two cards suited). You make standard contibet, villain re-raises, you - ?. Both of you have full stacks. Villain is NL10 regular fishy player.

2.) You play 6handed NL10 ring game. You are button and you get 67s. UTG makes standard raise, you call. flop is 7J3 (two cards suited taht makes your flush draw). Villain makes standard contibet, you - ?. Both of you have full stacks. Villain is NL10 regular fishy player.
  • 22 replies
    • Cpwpoker
      Cpwpoker
      Bronze
      Set is better on flop with a 7:1 outs.

But on river and turn flush is better with 2:1 from flop to river.

So the best thing to do when you have a set on board is giving your opponents bad pots odds.

but even if you do so many time they will call all-in with flushdraw and you will loose 1 time/3.

1st examples - All-in give him pot odds perhaps he will fold and the re-raise was only for him to get the control of the pot.If he is a fishy player you will lose 1/3 time so 2/3 time you will stack him so i think all in is good or you can just call until the river but when u will reach the river he will probably fold and you won't stack him.

2nd example - If his contibet is weak or you are feeling weakness from his bet reraise he will probably fold.Else just call and try to make it to the river as cheap possible if he is a fishy player he will go broke on the river even if you have the flush against his high pair.

Just my humble fishy oppinion xD
    • FWKanobi
      FWKanobi
      Bronze
      Originally posted by wickdclown