odds, pot odds, implied pot odds etc.

• Frirkh
      Frirkh
      Bronze
      Hi, i am a beginner and i am finding it quite difficult to calculate all these things in such a short time. I have a couple o simple question about this.

1. are there any programs where you can train to calculate these things quickly.

2. how did you get good at calculating? Was it simlpy by doing in real play or are there any other methods that you may know about?
  • 3 replies
    • TribunCaesar
      TribunCaesar
      Bronze
      Originally posted by Frirkh
      Hi, i am a beginner and i am finding it quite difficult to calculate all these things in such a short time. I have a couple o simple question about this.

1. are there any programs where you can train to calculate these things quickly.

2. how did you get good at calculating? Was it simlpy by doing in real play or are there any other methods that you may know about?
      1. it's very easy math, you should be able to do it without progs.

2. I am not. I just can do the simple calculations which are necessary. Practise it and it comes more natural.

Best regards,
      TribunCaesar
    • Dragar
      Dragar
      Bronze
      The calculations needed for beginner poker are quiet simple:

If opponent bets half pot or close to half you have correct odds to make a call. This also counts for any raises.

Example... you have a flush draw... you bet 70 cents into 1$ for semi-bluff.. he min-raises you... you have correct odds.

This is because flush and straight draw are roughly 1/3 from flop to river. Turn to river are lower.

Implied are also not very hard. Implied odds are usually quiet big from one street to the next if your draw is not visible. Hence flush draw odds are very low if you c/c but they are higher if your aggressive in the draw.
      Double gut shots implied odds are very high for example.