Project Zero - Jay's Poker Journey

• jaychiew
      jaychiew
      Bronze
      Greetings Ya'll!

This would be my very first poker posting ever and I am happy to have found a great community here. This will be the place I decided to put my poker blogs that describes my poker journey.

About Jay

I hold an engineering degree and love to analyze anything from technical perspectives. My wife happens to work in finance where stocks, futures and forex are the game and somehow got suck into that world. For the past 5 years, I tried to master forex and futures trading. From fundamentals to technical trading, I pretty much tried everything with much effort. It's a great game but until today, I've yet to succeed.

I was lucky to have my own business consulting/training running quite successfully.

Just about 4 months ago, I move to Sydney, Australia permanently. I was looking around to see what I could do. Somehow, I got to learn Texas Holdem. I started playing for fun in Facebook and quickly move up into millions. Sure playing fake money is different from real, but it was surely interesting on my part.

I found it interesting because it has many similarities in financial trading like forex - except there is lesser risk in poker imo. There is things like risk management, money management (which PS calls it BR management), stop loss etc. So, I am now only 2 months old playing poker. My goal is to be a professional poker player.

Strategy for Start-up

I always believe the fastest way to be good in anything is to learn from others. The first thing I did was bought a dozen of good books from Amazon (Harrington etc). I also joined other video training sites that up my game and confidence.

One thing I learn, I don't rely too much on TV poker programs. Eventually I stopped putting too much emphasis on TV poker programs (a smart decision I think).