First timer SSS questions

• jonnyquest
      jonnyquest
      Bronze
      Hi everyone,

quick intro before the questions. I joined PS.com a week ago, got my capital and signed up to Fulltilt. I've been playing live poker(mostly home games) for about 8 years with good results. Tried pokerstars a couple years ago and found it too loose and wild for me. I read a lot of the articles and searched through the forum here on PS. I quickly saw many things I was doing that work in live games that are mistakes online. I decided to use the SSS at the NL10 tables. So today I played my first session at Fulltilt, NL10 SSS. My first table went well and I cashed at 30bb. I then found another table and got bullied out of pots and got no action when I had a solid hand. After a while I was now down 3 1/2 buy ins. It seemed as though all the players at the table were aware of what I was doing and always reraising me off my hands. When I did get a strong enough hand to push they would fold. After realizing what was happening I started stealing blinds and playing back at them. I was able to climb back up past even for the session(+3bb). What I was doing was not much different from the SSS guide but was much more successful. Now the questions.

1) How do I avoid these tables and players?
      2) Should I be playing SSS by the book or do what I was doing at the end of my session?
      3) Why is stealing not part of the SSS(it's very effective once you have an ultra tight image)
      4) Is the SSS something a lot of online players are aware of? People seemed to catch on immediately.

Sorry for the long post. All advice would be appreciated.

Thanks
  • 4 replies
    • slowshow
      slowshow
      Bronze
      Ok, im a SSS newcomer too, however ill try to share some thoughts. I hope some expierenced guys will correct me. :f_p: