Getting too much respect for my raises.

• DodoStek
      DodoStek
      Bronze
      Heya, I am new on these boards and I only play on PartyPoker since a week ago. I'm totally new to internet-poker but now I'm having a dilemma.

I am just getting plain too much respect for my raises. Often I raise from middle position to 4/5x BB when nobody has limped yet, or even when some have. Almost 90% of the time, everybody behind me folds. I'm having difficulties with this, because my legitimate hands aren't getting enough action. On the other hand, it's quite nice because now I raise with every Ax and every time I steal the blinds.

Which hands would you recommend me to play in a situation like this? Should I play really loose? Where should I draw the line about what to raise and what to fold?
  • 9 replies
    • howard182
      howard182
      Bronze
      I'd love to have this problem, but you don't need to adjust much except from late position and in the blinds (even with limpers in the big blind, but raising lightly from there is a slightly advanded topic, and on the button) where, depending on how tight the players behind you really are, you might steal with anything up to 100% of your hands (just bear in mind that they're calling with superior hands and you should expect to be behind when you do get action!)

Any earlier and you run the risk of someone behind you waking up with a real hand.

Of course, this is assuming that your perception is accurate. It's probably not. Without poker tracker and a HUD you should observe the behaviour of players at your table very closely before making any adjustments of any sort.
    • DodoStek
      DodoStek
      Bronze
      It is not just something I have experienced at one particular table. Right now I am playing on the micro-limits NL and almost everyone plays weak tight. Maybe there is a more reknown member who used to play at these limits or plays on the limits, but I am pretty sure my observations are accurate.