SSS question - be gentle please!

• Quasar9
      Quasar9
      Bronze
      ok, I've been playing poker for nearly 3 years. I'm obviously still pretty useless as I'm very much a losing player overall (most won was £900 in MTT 6 months ago but have spent all that now!). I mostly play low stakes MTT which I enjoy.

I found Poker Strategy, did the quiz and had $50 put into Stars. The SSS strategy is totally alien to me and I found it really difficult. The main reason was that I rarely had premium hands to play and found myself sitting there for an entire evening getting bored stiff. I ended up losing 4 x $2 buyins the first evening and then resorted to playing the $1 tourneys instead, as I much prefer these - I've always found cash games less enjoyable and don't know why (probably because I tend to lose more playing cash than MTT. At least a $5 tourney lasts a while)

I totally love poker - I read magazines every month, books and forums and have no idea why I can't at least make myself a break-even player at the very least, which would enable me to carry on playing. The way I'm headed I soon wont be able to play at all as I'm on a very tight budget. I have nobody to discuss poker with in the 'real world' which makes it even harder.

Please someone give me some inspiration!!

P.S. Forgot to say I listened to a Bronze coaching session the other day, maybe it's just me but didn't really find it helpful, just interesting, as anything to do with poker is interesting to me.

please be constructive in your replies - I'm desperate :o(
  • 11 replies
    • EagleStar88
      EagleStar88
      Bronze
      Hi Quasar9 & welcome to PokerStrategy,

Well your amongst friends here, we all :heart: talking poker :D

First off I totally understand what you are talking about. Before joining PokerStrategy I too was a losing player. Not much, but consistently leaking a little bit here and there and it all adds up.