[NL2-NL10] NL5 FR: Kh Qh

• pablomeza
      pablomeza
      Bronze
      Hello, this is my first time posting a hand for analysis. I am not using any stats software for NL5 and my opponent has shown some competency in previous hands.

Hand converted with online PokerStrategy.com hand converter:

Play hand

$0.02/$0.05 No-Limit Hold'em (9 handed)

Known players:
      BB(Hero):
      $5.57
      UTG1:
      $3.58
      UTG2:
      $5.17
      MP1:
      $12.70
      MP2:
      $2.89
      MP3:
      $6.85
      CO:
      $5.00
      BU:
      $5.49
      SB:
      $3.69

Preflop: Hero is BB with K, Q.
      UTG1 raises to $0.10, 7 folds, Hero raises to $0.30, UTG1 calls $0.20.

First off, I'm pretty sure one can use min. raises to put opponent's on ranges very easily. I figure A9-, K9- and Q9- is his range, so I 3-bet him in hopes of him to fold, as seeing an A hit the flop is always bad with KQs. Instead he simply call's the raise to see the flop. I know unless an A hits the board, I will make a CBet without position, as I think I have the rest of his range dominated with KQ.

Flop: ($0.62) 5, J, A (2 players)
      Hero checks, UTG1 checks.

Here I flop the nuts, which is both good and bad. Fishes are always scared of three cards of the same suit on the board, and I'm pretty sure I have taken down pots where I had nothing by simply bluffing the flush. Here though I flop the nuts and am way ahead, and since I raised pre-flop, I CHECK in hopes of implying I didn't hit anything and then raising a bet. He CHECKS as well which is bad but reinforces my 'way ahead' feeling. I also know he doesn't have a set with pocket pairs, since he would've surely bet here to protect from a flush draw.

Turn: ($0.62) J (2 players)
      Hero checks, UTG1 checks.

The following card was a dead card from the ranges I put him on, so I once again CHECK in hopes of raising a bet, but this once again doesn't happen.

River: ($0.62) T (2 players)
      Hero bets $0.20, UTG1 calls $0.20.