noob and having a hard time playing at low limits

• kAoChAn
      kAoChAn
      Bronze
      (mods, I have a feeling this topic shouldn't be here but I'm a beginner too...just in case, please move the topic if needed, thanks!)

I'm having trouble winning at the lower tables...I think it's a bankroll management thing, but I'm kind of used to having at least a thousand chips in play (I realized I didn't know how to bet with such a limited amount, I'm used to playing in tourneys) but I know it's not advisable to join any table higher than NL2 (or whatever you call it...the BB is .02) given that my BR is just $50 (now $46, I'm losing...waaah T_T)
      I usually buy in for a dollar and I think I've been making either bad calls or bad lay downs (for ex. somebody bets for .10 pre-flop pot is .12, I realize it's a lot to consider when I only have a small pair, say 4's) it's so frustrating...
      I'm thinking of sticking to my comfort zone for a while (SNGs and tourneys) hoping to cash out big but shouldn't I start learning how to play out of my comfort zone?
      I'm still browsing through the NLHE topics but I think my bigger problem is I always end up in a table where there are better players who slow play a lot so I end up going all in for nothing. I don't know how to read slow players yet...I almost always think they're just bullying me...

any advice? :)
  • 7 replies
    • inf4my
      inf4my
      Bronze
      NL2 is a complete joke. If you are losing it's probably just bad luck.

The players at that limit have no idea what they're doing. They basically telegraph their cards to you.

A lot of people will tell you to play tight and not bluff, but that's foolish IMO.

Sometimes I go back to NL2 just for fun and I always laugh at how often these people fold their hands.

Buy in for $2 instead of $1. Follow the starting hands chart, but modify it so that if there was no raise in front of you, raise with ANY playable hand. This includes 22+, 67+, J9+