Please Help

• philiveyfan
      philiveyfan
      Bronze
      Hey I'm still fairly new to texas holdem so I want to ask few questions.

If I have ace 2 and you have 45

and board comes ace 2 3 4 5 does the 45 take it or is it a split?

I have ace queen you have ace king

board is 10 jack king queen 7 is this a split or does ace king take it.

I'm still struggling with split pots. I know it's the best 5 cards but sometimes I confused anyone can help me out in a easy way with this.
  • 6 replies
    • AlexanderD22
      AlexanderD22
      Bronze
      Originally posted by philiveyfan

I'm still struggling with split pots. I know it's the best 5 cards but sometimes I confused anyone can help me out in a easy way with this.
      Both splits, both playing the board for a straight.

Try to think of it as the best possible 5 cards. In you first example all of the hole cards are out there so it doesn't matter. In the 2nd example you only need 1 card to make the broadway straight (TJQKA) so anyone holding an Ace has that 5 card combination. If there was a 3rd player in the hand holding A-rag they would still have the straight.
    • philiveyfan
      philiveyfan
      Bronze
      Originally posted by AlexanderD22
      Originally posted by philiveyfan

Both splits, both playing the board for a straight.

Try to think of it as the best possible 5 cards. In you first example all of the hole cards are out there so it doesn't matter. In the 2nd example you only need 1 card to make the broadway straight (TJQKA) so anyone holding an Ace has that 5 card combination. If there was a 3rd player in the hand holding A-rag they would still have the straight.

so in what case do kickers play?
    • AlexanderD22
      AlexanderD22
      Bronze
      Ok I'm gonna give this a whirl since I've always considered myself the world's worst teacher.

Kickers only play if the hand held is less than a 5 card hand. Now the whole point is to make the best 5 card hand possible.