This site uses cookies to improve your browsing experience. By continuing to browse the website, you accept such cookies. For more details and to change your settings, see our Cookie Policy and Privacy Policy. Close

Please Help

• philiveyfan
      philiveyfan
      Bronze
      Hey I'm still fairly new to texas holdem so I want to ask few questions.

If I have ace 2 and you have 45

and board comes ace 2 3 4 5 does the 45 take it or is it a split?

I have ace queen you have ace king

board is 10 jack king queen 7 is this a split or does ace king take it.

I'm still struggling with split pots. I know it's the best 5 cards but sometimes I confused anyone can help me out in a easy way with this.
  • 6 replies
    • AlexanderD22
      AlexanderD22
      Bronze
      Originally posted by philiveyfan

I'm still struggling with split pots. I know it's the best 5 cards but sometimes I confused anyone can help me out in a easy way with this.
      Both splits, both playing the board for a straight.

Try to think of it as the best possible 5 cards. In you first example all of the hole cards are out there so it doesn't matter. In the 2nd example you only need 1 card to make the broadway straight (TJQKA) so anyone holding an Ace has that 5 card combination. If there was a 3rd player in the hand holding A-rag they would still have the straight.
    • philiveyfan
      philiveyfan
      Bronze
      Originally posted by AlexanderD22
      Originally posted by philiveyfan

Both splits, both playing the board for a straight.

Try to think of it as the best possible 5 cards. In you first example all of the hole cards are out there so it doesn't matter. In the 2nd example you only need 1 card to make the broadway straight (TJQKA) so anyone holding an Ace has that 5 card combination. If there was a 3rd player in the hand holding A-rag they would still have the straight.

so in what case do kickers play?
    • AlexanderD22
      AlexanderD22
      Bronze