SSS and some thoughts on PokerStrategy

• awishformore
      awishformore
      Bronze
      Well, I started here some days ago, and played the SSS rigidly 100% by the strategy guide. It didn't work too well, although I was making money. But the main problem is it became way too boring. How am I supposed to learn something if I just follow some rules and don't think by myself?

Now, I went up to .10/.25 tables, and I started with a short stack. I wait for the right cards to increase my stack, and as soon as I had it doubled, I started playing more by psychology, board knowledge and my own rules. That doesn't mean I turn maniac. I still play quite tight. And it seems to work much better. I make more money playing one table .10/.25 than I earn when playing .05/.10 by strict SSS.

Now, I'm wondering...it keeps telling me everywhere I will be a winning player if I play by the strategy guide. But doesn't the strategy guide neglect the most important factor for NL poker? Psychology? Reading your opponent and playing them, too?

Your strategy guides were great to refine my own style so far, but is it really a bad idea to play my own style? Should I really just play 100% by PokerStrategy rules? Doesn't every good poker player have his own style? I think it's somehow odd to turn players into machines by making them play 100% the same.

I came here to ask this since I saw a PokerStrategy player at a table, yelling at some other player that made a nice call and stole his 5$. He called him fish, noob, and so on. And said he was a winning player for years through PokerStrategy. But the other player simply outplayed him. By psychology and mind reading. While he was stupidly following his guide. And now, whenever I spot someone with 5$ on those tables folding a lot, and raising by exactly what your guide recommends at some points, I know I can easily outplay him. Isn't it very bad for the PokerStrategy players/beginners to be so easily readable?