Question re: 15/20/25 rule SSS

    • MinerBoy
      MinerBoy
      Bronze
      Joined: 11.09.2009 Posts: 8
      The Rule - buy in for 20BB, top up if at or below 15BB and leave if at or above 25BB.

      OK - sounds simple enough. However - my question is this --> What if you have topped up (once or more than once) back to 20BB. Effectively you have therefore sat down with perhaps 25BB or 30BB.

      If after topping back to 20BB you end up with a stack of 25BB - do you leave? You may have a stack of 25BB in front of you but in terms of what you have brought to the table, you may still be down or break even - rather than actually 5BB ahead.

      Hope this question makes sense.

      Thanks, MB.
  • 4 replies
    • tokyoaces
      tokyoaces
      Bronze
      Joined: 01.04.2009 Posts: 1,883
      Originally posted by MinerBoy
      If after topping back to 20BB you end up with a stack of 25BB - do you leave?
      Yes, you leave. The strategy is not +EV for stack sizes above 25BB.
    • slowshow
      slowshow
      Bronze
      Joined: 17.07.2009 Posts: 99
      SSS idea is to usually go all-in as agression. If Your stack is more than 25 BB doing this will lead to -EV with this strategy. Either change strategy or dont do this.
    • MinerBoy
      MinerBoy
      Bronze
      Joined: 11.09.2009 Posts: 8
      Thanks for the answers.

      So you are essentially saying it isn't how much you have bought/re-bought for that is the determining factor - it is your ACTUAL stack in front of you at the time!!
    • THeGaME23
      THeGaME23
      Bronze
      Joined: 12.10.2009 Posts: 398
      Originally posted by MinerBoy
      Thanks for the answers.

      So you are essentially saying it isn't how much you have bought/re-bought for that is the determining factor - it is your ACTUAL stack in front of you at the time!!
      It's pretty easy concept when you think about it. Lets say you have 30bb, if you play how SSS tells you you would want to go all in pre flop, and with 30bb you create more fold equity with your big hands (aka they will fold more) and if you get a bad beat or are actually behind (QQ vs. KK for ex.) Then you will lose more also. It creates a lose-lose situation, the only upside is that you win slightly more.