when to walk away

• jedder16
      jedder16
      Bronze
      okay this might be the wrong place to post this but i would like to ask people the stupidest most basic question going - when do you walk away? Let me give you some examples.

I'm in education and have a tiny cash input... what cash i do have i turn into poker. The first time i started playing i lost $70. Then the next time I deposited 20$... won an 18$ MTT and got about $150. I then kept entering these $18 sit and goes until it was ALL gone

I would finish in the money in my free roll, win about 0.50c. I take this to the minimum cash table in fixed limit and manage to get to $40 (this was just yesterday) through some sit and goes but mainly exceptional cash table play. I then proceeded to lose it all.

I usually play high limit poker because it's easier to be much more profitable then no limit poker, but when i hit a losing streak I just cant seem to walk away - angry for my lost funds. Is there a specific limit I should stop at? Only my resolve and disclipline is preventing me turning over a profit and it's so frustrating

sorry for such a trivial problem,
      Jed
  • 3 replies
    • Puschkin81
      Puschkin81
      Bronze
      Hi Jedder!

I strongly recommend that you read our bankroll management articles as well as the other strategy articles!!! It seems to me that you are a typical gambler. But if you keep playing like this (e.g. having a $20 bankroll and putting $18 in a tournament) you will lose a lot more money.

I hope this helps!
      Puschkin81
    • Ulek
      Ulek
      Black
      The way you play at the moment is kamikaze poker. Its like flipping a coin, you either double your bankroll or lose everything. Your bankroll cant really grow if every time you play there is a 50% chance to lose it, can it? So read the bankroll management article and start building your roll by playing small limits and slowly moving up.
    • howard182
      howard182
      Bronze