position playing

• altkiki
      altkiki
      Bronze
      hello, beginner here :)

i can't seam to fully understand the position it self!! meaning, in the first articles i've read, they say that for instance a 10 handed table has big blind (BB) small blind (SB) under the gun (UTG1, UTG2, UTG3 - early position) middle position (MP1, MP2, MP3), cut off (CO) and button (BU), the last 2 as late position. and then if there's only 9 players you won't have any UTG1 left (only UTG2 and UTG3). the situation gets mor complicated for me when it comes down to 5 or 6 players. in this situation according to the theory there would be SB, BB, MP3 (or even MP2 if 6 handed), CO and BU. ok, so far so good.
      what i don't understand is in case of 5 or 6 players MP2 and MP are considered to be in middle position or early position?? beacouse for instance if i'm in this situation of 5 or 6 handed, and i'm in the MP2 or MP3 position and i hold let's say AQ or TT and the tournament is in the middle phase, according to the middle phase chart, AQ and TT should be folded in early position and raised in middle or late position, and i don't know how to act beacouse i'm not sure in wich position am i afterall middle or early....

if anyone can make this detail clear for me i would really apreciate it... MP2 and MP3 in a 5/6 handed table are unde the gun afterall so wich one is it, middle position or under the gun?
  • 4 replies
    • ironmask92
      ironmask92
      Bronze
      "if i'm in this situation of 5 or 6 handed, and i'm in the MP2 or MP3 position and i hold let's say AQ or TT and the tournament is in the middle phase, according to the middle phase chart, AQ and TT should be folded in early position and raised in middle or late position, and i don't know how to act beacouse i'm not sure in wich position am i afterall middle or early...."