HELP! Tilt is killing me!

• jonnyquest
      jonnyquest
      Bronze
      Hi everyone,

I've been playing now for almost 2 months (SSS). I seemed to do okay at NL10, NL25 playing basic SSS while multitabling (12-16 tables). I lost all my profits and then some during a pretty nasty 20k hand downswing. I was able to grind my way out of the red just to go on tilt. I then continued to repeat this cycle (grind - tilt - grind - tilt). Then I had a few good sessions playing a bit more advanced strategy 4 tabling and got my bankroll up to enough where I could play NL50. Took a shot at NL50 then I tilted away a HUGE portion of my bankroll. I'm back at NL25 now and really pissed off at myself.

At what limit do people stop calling all ins with 52o? I usually tilt after a series of wierd calls like this where I lose. Sometimes when I tilt I recognize it rightaway and sit out. Sometimes I don't recognize it and play until my stop loss. But for the first time the other day it was like a total out of body experience. I was playing like a maniac! I finally felt better and came out of it and shut down my PC. I'm going to take this week off and read some articles and review my play maybe at the end of the week. Other than a break what else can I do?

Sorry for the long post, all opinions/advice will be a help.

Thanks
  • 11 replies
    • Smileyphil
      Smileyphil
      Bronze
      Hi Jonny,
      I think tilt is one of the hardest leaks to get over for any serious poker player. I find the important thing is to be able to laugh at bad beats. If a player calls my all in with 52o and flops a full house I laugh (sometimes out loud) and shrug it off. You have to develop an attitude that means you are pleased when you play well rather than being pleased when you win hands.