Open Raising Range

• Jeero
      Jeero
      Bronze
      Hi,

I'm pretty new to MTT's but I have had some success due to what I believe to be an ocean of fish. I think that I am still very much a noob at MTT's but by just playing good hands I seem to almost always go deep and cash in more than half the tournaments I enter. However, I have never won an MTT and I have only final tabled on a couple of occasions.

I played in a tournament today for over 5 hours and busted out in 85th place. I felt really terrible about the hand that I busted out on. It made me feel so confused whether I made the right play or not. I had about 20bb, the big blind had me covered, but by not that much, maybe 25-30bb's. Unfortunately I neglected to record the hand. But it went something like this; I open raised 3x the bb from the button with 87 of diamonds. The flop came T84, with two hearts. The big blind checked to me and I raised about half the pot. The big blind min-raises me. I figured if I am going to call I should shove so that's what I did. The big blind showed T5 of spades.

I felt terrible after this hand because I had no idea what I should have done right from the start. I was playing super tight so when I raised from the button I thought I would get more respect than what I got. Although I now think that most players may not even notice,... Was 87suited a reasonable open raise? On such a board I found that contibets are often raised,... should I have folded to a raise HU with middle pair? Should I have checked behind with a two-flush on the board (I would be surprised if I was supposed to check behind)?
  • 3 replies
    • wquinn636
      wquinn636
      Bronze
      It's easy to say in hindsight that you should have raised tighter. If someone's calling with air and shoving over the top with a weak top pair you'll get much better chances to take their money (or in this case, tourney chips) than with 87s. It's all about the reads.
    • spit22
      spit22
      Bronze