This site uses cookies to improve your browsing experience. By continuing to browse the website, you accept such cookies. For more details and to change your settings, see our Cookie Policy and Privacy Policy. Close

Open Raising Range

• Jeero
      Jeero
      Bronze
      Hi,

I'm pretty new to MTT's but I have had some success due to what I believe to be an ocean of fish. I think that I am still very much a noob at MTT's but by just playing good hands I seem to almost always go deep and cash in more than half the tournaments I enter. However, I have never won an MTT and I have only final tabled on a couple of occasions.

I played in a tournament today for over 5 hours and busted out in 85th place. I felt really terrible about the hand that I busted out on. It made me feel so confused whether I made the right play or not. I had about 20bb, the big blind had me covered, but by not that much, maybe 25-30bb's. Unfortunately I neglected to record the hand. But it went something like this; I open raised 3x the bb from the button with 87 of diamonds. The flop came T84, with two hearts. The big blind checked to me and I raised about half the pot. The big blind min-raises me. I figured if I am going to call I should shove so that's what I did. The big blind showed T5 of spades.

I felt terrible after this hand because I had no idea what I should have done right from the start. I was playing super tight so when I raised from the button I thought I would get more respect than what I got. Although I now think that most players may not even notice,... Was 87suited a reasonable open raise? On such a board I found that contibets are often raised,... should I have folded to a raise HU with middle pair? Should I have checked behind with a two-flush on the board (I would be surprised if I was supposed to check behind)?
  • 3 replies
    • wquinn636
      wquinn636
      Bronze