[NL2-NL10] Flopped set on mono board

• Fagin

I played this hand last night and as I am relatively new to BSS I am hoping for a second opinion.

Cassava Poker $0.05/$0.10 No Limit Hold'em - 9 players - View hand 460029
      The Official DeucesCracked.com Hand History Converter

UTG: $12.31
      UTG+1: $14.17
      UTG+2: $9.31
      MP1: $1.55
      MP2: $23.59
      CO: $2.03
      Hero (BTN): $13.05
      SB: $12.46
      BB: $4.14

Pre Flop: ($0.15) Hero is BTN with 8 :club: 8 :spade:
      6 folds, Hero raises to $0.40, SB raises to $1.15, 1 fold, Hero calls $0.75

I was going to call and setmine but as everybody folded I thought I would use the 88 for a steal. The Sb re-raise was awalkward to read as I only have 46 hands on him. I decided to just call and re-evaluate on the flop. I didn't want to raise and commit too much with a weak pair pre flop yet I felt the 88 was potentially too strong to lay down pre flop.

Flop: ($2.40) 8 :diamond: 3 :diamond: 5 :diamond: (2 players)
      SB bets $1.35, Hero raises to $3.40, SB folds

Loved the top set but hated the 3 :diamond: s. Read him for a standard c-bet and decided the raise would let me know if he was serious about his hand and if he had a :diamond:

Final Pot: $5.10
      Hero mucks 8 :club: 8 :spade:
      Hero wins $2.80
      (Rake: $2.30)

Any thoughts would be appreciated ie:
      was the bet too strong?
      Was it perhaps too weak and could have been called?
      Should I perhaps have called despite the dangerous board as I probably have 7 clean outs to the nuts

• 4 replies
    • LukasGunther
      I have a feeling he had AK that didn't hit. How come the rake on that pot was so much?
    • MaestroOfZerg

4betting preflop is way overplayed 125bb deep without history so calling in position is the way.