Playing like a robot? Some thoughts and a roadmap.

• c4t0r
      c4t0r
      Bronze
      I have read many posts (especially about SSS) where people complain about being told to play like a robot, being predictable therefore, etc.

Since i am quite new to poker I am unsure what to make of that. I see the point in the whole predictability argument, however it feels strange for me to read those opinions: Actually what I am trying to do at the moment is to play like a robot, or in other words to program myself. As a simplified model i compare myself to a machine/computer/robot, and I try to elaborate a merely fixed set of rules about which action is to take. In my opinion it may be a good way especially for new players like me to improver my overall play: The whole point behind it is that i actually try to suppress emotions (its emotions that make be do bad calls, stupid raises, or fold because i am afraid).

However i would say that it really depends on how good the "program" that my brains runs is, so i view the whole process very much like the developement process of a computerprogram. Developing a program always involves the same steps:

1.) Get a running/working prototype (= become a winning player):

That means the program should perform its tasks, maybe not in the optimal way at first (optimizations come later, first eliminate any bugs). simplicity is good during that phase. It's got to be slim and easy to debug. Applied to poker that would mean: Get a (simple) strategy to work, be sure that I always play according to it, and be sure that i stick to it. And obviously be sure that the ideas behind my strategy are reasonable - Details come later. SSS, and also the SHC v1.1 seem to be a good starting point, the fact that it seems to be quite mechanical is a plus therefore in my opinion. Personally i would consider myself still being in that first phase of developement.

2.) Algorithmic improvements (= become a strong player):