Staggering Play As Of Late?!?!

• LukasGunther
      LukasGunther
      Bronze
      Hi everybody,

I started playing poker on full tilt about 2 weeks ago. I deposited 50 canadian dollars so it came out to 44. I started out playing NL10 full ring. I did alright there but it wasn't for me. So i moved to NL10 SH. I was doing quite well there and moving up in the dollar amount. I realized that this 44 dollars was not suitable for this limit. So I moved down to NL4. There i just got torn apart. Not sure what it was but I lost like 4 buy-ins there with in a few 100 hands. So I went back to NL10 SH since I was confident in my game there. I have moved up quite well and currently have my bankroll at 110 dollars.

My issues are with my stagnant play. It seems as though I have hit a plateau. Ill start playing a session and end up going down to 70 dollars. Then I would proceed to get it back to 100 dollars. The process has been happening over and over I just cant seem to get the consistency that I had prior. Im wondering what possible reason would cause this?

I don't have any poker software because I am on a Mac and it is not supported, So I will link you with my Player Stats at PTR.

http://www.pokertableratings.com/fulltilt-player-search/the+bukafax

Thank you, Luke
  • 19 replies
    • Berzerger
      Berzerger
      Bronze
      The phenomenon you're experiencing is called variance. It's present in all poker games, and as you might have heard, SH is very swingy. You can easily lose 5 stacks and win them all back with in a single session. This alone is reason enough for you to switch down a limit until your bankroll allows you to play NL10. I'm assuming you play BSS here. 11 BI is not enough to survive SH, even on microstakes. So move down or you will go broke.

Now, are you saying you can beat NL10, but can't beat NL4? That's just an impression you got from running bad at NL4, the players are actually much weaker.
    • michaelqian
      michaelqian
      Bronze