Seriously doubting poker....

• PetterG2
      PetterG2
      Bronze
      Seriously, how long can a downswing last? After I started playing again after a longer break I feel like EVERYTHING is going against me. My original plan was to deposit $100 (I had a few percentages at a MTT and got $220 more) and play NL5sh and see were it went from there. I moved up to nl10 after the BR-boost from the MTT-percentages.

I played around 50k hands with decent succsess (5bb/100). I did however, run 12-15BI under EV. I got a little bit bored of nl5sh, so I started with PLO5sh (Used to beat PLO10sh with 20bb/100 over a decent sample). Around 15k hands later I was 25 BI under EV. In frustration ("plo is unbeatable, only lucky idiots and to much variance"-thoughts) I started to play what I used to be really succsessful with around 6 months ago; turbo STT SnGs. 200 games, 15BI under EV, no thanks, I quit.

After a two week break, I decided that NLsh should be the game I was going to focus on. I re-read strategy-articles, watched vids, reviewed sessions +++ and did a lot in order to work on my game. I did fix some serious leaks (from a HUGE non-showdown loser -> breakeven w/o effecting the showdown-winnings to much).

The bad run didn't stop though. I am 6 stacks under EV with QQ, KK and AA this month (only 8k hands) and of the 38 KKs I've been dealt this months, 5 of them meet aces. Luckily 2 of them were to shorties. 29/42 aces only took down blinds, and 4 of them lost to lower PPs AIpre.

I won $2,5k (incl. rb) between summer 08 to summer 09, only playing in my spare time and I played everything from NLFR to PLOsh to turbo sngs. Now nothing works out for me and I keep telling myself "it will be over soon, stop being so result-orientated". I don't think this will lat. Anyways... Im not going to complain anymore.. For some of you more experienced players; how long can I expect a doomer to last? There is no doubt that I will quit poker if this doesn't stop soon.
  • 5 replies