When did you start?

• eikciR
      eikciR
      Basic
      So, i'm curious: when did you start playing poker?

How about what format did you start playing at? What were your expectations of the game itself? Did you think you would end up playing online? What motivates you to carry on playing?

Let us know!
  • 12 replies
    • Ave27
      Ave27
      Bronze
      I started playing for real, i think in o7 is when is signed up, but i only played like 5 times and rl took over. *moving, school, computer breaking* so i didn't come back till this year.

I started with NL. I've since learned SnG, FL, and very little stud.

lol winning money is what motivates me to move on. I've always been competitive in all sports, and in this one u can take some1's money as well... its a pretty sweet feeling :s_cool:
    • gadget51
      gadget51
      Bronze
      Started in 07 when I lost my job. I could join a site without making a deposit in those days so I played the 10,000 seat NL freerolls that paid about 10c for 260th place. :D
      Made about $25 then moved to 10c 10 seat SnGs until I had some luck and won a few of the freerolls (about $25 for 1st lol). So moving on to cash I played 2c/4c NL FR and still the freerolls. Cash games gave me rake so I could enter bigger paying freerolls, such as the $1,000 for 1st one every Sunday with about 200 seats. Again I was lucky and got 2nd for $700. So, after about 4 weeks and not having ever deposited, I haven't looked back. Over the next 2 years I made dozens of final tables and won it a couple of times as well. I still play freerolls although not the donkfests I was forced to at the start. I still play (own) 2c/4c FR NL and 6 max. I play 2c/4c 6max OH and up to 25c/50c FR FL.
      Having never made a deposit I think I have withdrawn about £9,000 over the 3 years, so what motivates me is obvious...I love free money![So does SWMBO by the way..sigh :) ] Lol.