Horrible Downswing, desperately seeking advice

• michaelqian
      Hi all

Every since I started NL5 it's been horribly swingy, as soon as I make a little profit, it seems to get taken away instantly. I play at Full Tilt.

After 37,000 hands, my stats are 12.6/8/2.7. I started playing somewhat passive recently because there's seem to be a huge amount of fish and aggro on the tables.

After about the same number of hands at NL2, I'm already 40 stacks up. While at NL5, I'm only 4 stacks up. Which is only 0.58 BB/100 hands.

As I said there seem to be a huge amount of fish or bad players recently. I just can't seem to figure out what's a good way of playing against them and feel like I'm losing a lot of money to them. Also lost a few good stacks with KK vs AA.

1. Preflop raises with small pairs, connectors etc... simply don't work, they call everything, therefore cont-bets postflop almost never work either.

2. They always mange to get the better of me, my Kings have been cracked with 72o once. He called my preflop raise and all subsequent bets, only for me to find out he got 2 pairs on the turn.

3. I do hit sets, good hands, but I never get paid off. It's almost like the fishes can see my cards and fold instantly when I bet or raise with a good hand.

4. Just my observation. Everytime I play, there's almost a few guys sitting at a NL5 table with a ridiculous amount of money, i.e. 4 BIs or more. They have VPIP over 50, extremely bad and loose, yet manage to get lucky everytime.

Any advice? Feeling absolutely sh*t right now.

Here is my graph at NL5

• 5 replies
    • andreibalint
      You have to do 3 things:
      1. Take a break.
      2. Learn a lot.
      3. Play a lot.
    • boyadzhiev
      Thats not the case,
      I had the same problems and there is only 1 solution - play BSS. Short stack just doesn't work on FullTilt.
    • michaelqian
      I do play BSS.
    • p0kerdragon1