Can PS take a complete newbie to pro-level?

• Huxley1984
      Welcome to my blog.

As a quick introduction, I’m an English guy who’s living in Spain. I’m the wrong side of 40 (only just) and looking for a new way of paying my bills. I’ve got a family to support so need to earn a fairly decent amount each month.

My poker experience up until now is almost zero – I’ve basically never played, though I once had a job as a croupier so am familiar with the game from the other side of the table. What’s brought me here is the desire to generate my income independently of a fickle job market and be in charge of my own destiny – sentiments I share with those in the "Are you fit for professional Poker?" article.

So, 2 weeks ago I passed the PS test and since then I’ve been studying the articles, reading the forums, watching videos, playing for play money, and for the last few days, playing at micro stakes.

I’m intrigued to know if I can use the information on PS to improve from an absolute beginner to someone who can beat the 1/2 and 2/4 levels. I reckon if I can get to that level then I should be able to make a living out of poker. My aim would be to get there in 3-6 months time but I’ve no idea if that is realistic.

I’m really excited about this new “project” and would love to know of anyone who’s gone down the same path. Any tips you might have? What does it take to “make it”?

By the way, I’ve started out on FL as from what I read SSS sounds too dull for me and I clearly don’t have the skills for BSS yet. I’ll post again with some goals but let me know if you’re interested in following my progress – anything you’d like to see (current BR, stats, charts etc).

Cheers for now.
  • 26 replies
    • ShadowOfLight1337
      Making a living out of poker can be very challenging and I overall wouldn't recommend playing poker with that goal as you might burn yourself out with frustration.