Some Help needed on my home game

• skitzo
      skitzo
      Bronze
      Hi all,

Newbie here trying to gain some advice on this home game i usually go to.

Some general points on the game itself. Almost everybody is loose passive as i'm sure most friendly home games are. Meaning, you have people who frequently limp in with AQ/AK. Even KKs and AAs occasionally. This made it hard for me to put anybody on a hand, and forced me to play a really tight 3betting game, cause i have played AJ-AQ like the nuts (when there were 1-2 players in the hand), thinking i'm ahead of thier range, only to get valued town myself on several occasions.

3Betting the limpers will only bloat the pot as everybody is usually gonna call even 10x reraises preflop.

I have been generally winning by adopting a limping strategy myself to get to a cheap flop with hands that have good potential (set mining, suited conenctors). Also playing premium hands really aggressively, which is really good since alot of them are calling stations.

Recently we have upped the blinds, but everybody is buying in for like 50BBs instead. I feel that this kills my see-cheap-flop strategy as the implied odds i could get has drastically reduced. At the same time i do not want to play a super tight game although i'm sure it would be profitable, but as we only average 70-100 hands per session, i might be waiting for the cows to come home before i get any kind of hand.

Any input is greatly appreciated.:)
  • 3 replies
    • tokyoaces
      tokyoaces
      Bronze
      You shouldn't be trying to "beat" your home game for a profit. Relax, have fun, enjoy your friends. Online poker is for making the monies.
    • woopstash
      woopstash
      Bronze
      You may not want to "beat" your buddies at a friendly home game, but you certainly don't want to lose either. If you like me and one of the only guys that plays online poker, you can't be the guy that always loses at these donkaments.