This site uses cookies to improve your browsing experience. By continuing to browse the website, you accept such cookies. For more details and to change your settings, see our Cookie Policy and Privacy Policy. Close

explanation of an underbet??????

    • littlewing1
      littlewing1
      Bronze
      Joined: 31.01.2010 Posts: 23
      i was wondering if anyone could explain this situation for me which popped up at a live game i was at last nite at casino.
      it was concerning something called an UNDERBET, ill explain the situation

      nl holdem

      blinds 1000/2000

      UTG1 raises to 6000
      UTG2 goes all in (only has 5000 chips or so)
      everyone else folds

      dealer(CO) announces an underbet and says if i re-raise then UTG1 can only call and not re-raise again.
      could someone explain why this is?



      think thats all the info ud need, if more is needed to explain then please say.
  • 6 replies
    • lennonac
      lennonac
      Global
      Joined: 02.05.2009 Posts: 1,421
      UTG2 must have had more than UTG1's raise.
      An underbet is when the reraise from UTG2 is not a leagal size, ie 1 big blind or bigger then UTG1's raise

      So say UTG1 raises to 6000 and UTG2 goes allin for 6250 it is not a leagal raise.
      If there is a caller then the UTG1 raiser cannot reraise.

      I think the dealer got this one wrong from what you have discribed as you in the cutoff can do as you please.
    • Renmerb
      Renmerb
      Gold
      Joined: 26.06.2009 Posts: 165
      Have to agree with Lennonac.

      No matter if UTG+2 failed to call the bet, or make a correct raise, the CO should be able to raise as he wishes. If the CO makes a correct raise, then there is nothing stopping UTG+1 re-raising.

      Stolen from elsewhere;
      "The rule is in place to prevent the original raiser from re-raising his/her own bet. The minimum raise was not fulfilled by the all in bettor, and if any other player acting behind does not make a full 'minimum raise', when the action gets back to the original raiser, he/she can only call, because if he/she is allowed to re-raise, they will be re-raising their own original raise."
    • littlewing1
      littlewing1
      Bronze
      Joined: 31.01.2010 Posts: 23
      yes lennonac u gt that spot on about havin just slightly more(was 4 in morning after 8 hrs of poker)
      i wasnt in the cuttoff i was a folder.

      but say in ur example
      utg1 raises to 6000
      utg2 goes all in 6250
      if CO calls the extra 250 then utg1 can only call the 250 and cant re-raise bcos a legal raise has not been made.
      but if CO decides to make it a full minimum 1BB raise then utg1 can then reraise if he wishes to do so.

      think ive got it.

      thanks alot renmerb and lennonac, greatly appreciated

      played online for bout 6 mths now but just getting into the live games and these are the things you dnt get to see online.
    • Renmerb
      Renmerb
      Gold
      Joined: 26.06.2009 Posts: 165
      Originally posted by littlewing1
      if CO decides to make it a full minimum 1BB raise
      The min re-raise in this situation would be a bet of 10000, the bb of 2000 + original raise of 4000 + re-raise of 4000.

      Sorry if I just insulted your inteligence, but I just thought I'd clarify. All things you have to be sure of when playing live, much easier to make a mistake when there are no auto buttons in front of you.

      It is worth checking with the dealer though, as somtimes they class the min-raise as 2 x the original raisers full bet, so would mean a raise to 12000 total in the above situation. Although this is not technically correct.
    • littlewing1
      littlewing1
      Bronze
      Joined: 31.01.2010 Posts: 23
      no insult taken, im here to learn.
      think if id have thought about it i would of realized that, think it was the quote from lennonac that threw me.

      ""An underbet is when the reraise from UTG2 is not a leagal size, ie 1 big blind or bigger then UTG1's raise""

      thanks alot anyway m8 greatly appreciated.

      even tho its new to me and abit different i got 7th from a field of 70 people and cashed so very happy with that with the help of pokerstrategy.lol.


      seriously thanks for takin the time mate.
    • Renmerb
      Renmerb
      Gold
      Joined: 26.06.2009 Posts: 165
      Originally posted by littlewing1
      even tho its new to me and abit different i got 7th from a field of 70 people and cashed so very happy with that with the help of pokerstrategy.lol.
      Congrats. I'm sure a win will follow soon!