Compulsive playing

• rubysilesia
      rubysilesia
      Silver
      Hi

Ive been playing NL holdem for about 2 months. I really enjoy the game but I realized that I loose control on time spent on it. It started affect my everyday life ,my work and study. It also has negative effect on the gameplay coz I got tired and dont play my best. I found this usefull feature in PartyPoker called Self exclusion. I decided to take a brake for a week. Did u have this kind of problems? What time frames would u suggest to play in? How many days a week?
  • 9 replies
    • snowylee
      snowylee
      Bronze
      No I cant say that Ive personally had a problem with compulsive playing. I play from 1-5 hours a day at least, depending on other things I have to do its more likely to be just an hour or so. I try to play as much as I possibly can but its not a compulsion, its just because I think its THAT much fun :) .
      But Im sorry to hear its affected your everyday life, work and study.
      Perhaps playing for at most 5 hours a day would be good concerning the "getting tired" thing. But if you have lots of other things to take care of perhaps you should not play at all that day or at most around 1 hour?
      I hope you can get things back on track man :) .
    • Jhonty
      Jhonty
      Global
      hey rubyselsia, r u playing real game or you are playing online sites. I usually play on online sites like XXX and i haven't faced the problem as u r having. If you haven't tried online game why dont you try this one. And one good thing is you can play sitting at home.
    • Classical
      Classical
      Bronze
      Wow, on-line poker! Great tip! I guess not many members of this forum knew that such a thing exists!
    • Mugge88
      Mugge88
      Bronze
      Originally posted by Classical
      Wow, on-line poker! Great tip! I guess not many members of this forum knew that such a thing exists!
      :D - Made me laugh :D