Am I on the right track?

• Fiszy
      Fiszy
      Bronze
      Hi, I'm a very new starter to poker in general, and I would like clarification that I am on the right track in my efforts to improve. Recently I have:

Read 2-3 instructional books on the subject and counting.
      Played computer simulations with AI.
      Played dozens of online games with play money, mostly I lose.
      Begun with the ICM (though find it confusing).

I have had no prior experience with poker up until this point, but I'm confident based on my playing so far that I can be adept at it with enough experience. I am definitely committed and determined to learning. I have no instruction or guidance, though, so I don't know whether I'm applying effort into the correct areas or not. Is there anything else I should be doing on top of this? Right now I am working on remaining calm and objective during games. The area in which I think I am failing is the statistical calculations, which I cannot really grasp.

Sorry if this is in the wrong section, but the beginners section seems mostly to be about money bonuses, and has substantially less views per thread than this area.
  • 4 replies
    • mishkagg
      mishkagg
      Bronze
      Some advice:

1. Find and read Collin Moshman's Sit and go Strategy.

2. ICM trainer - play with it but try to understand why the ranges are what they are. When you do above 92% in 300 situations go play the $1 SnGs. You are going to smoke them in no time.

3. Read and apply as much Psychology as you can.

4. AI simulations and play money means jack shit. Don't do them.
    • Fagin
      Fagin
      Bronze
      Hi,

reading books is a great start, I would suggest Doyle Brunson's "Super System II" and Dan Harrington's "Harrington on Hold 'em" as being good starting choices. Also read the articles on this site as they will give you some excellent insights into the game.