Overbets: Putting the "No" back into "No limit".

• Catinthewall
      Catinthewall
      Bronze
      From all I've read in the poker strategy from this site, there's nothing dealing with overbets, either how to react to them, or when they're profitable to dish out.
      Pretty much the only thing different for standard TAG play between NL and PL is preflop first raise is limited to 3.5+1 bb, rather than 4+1 bb.
      Preflop, usually anything more than 4+1 is a big flashing warning sign, so they're simply not profitable to play against without the nuts, unless you're dealing with a maniac on tilt.

beyond that, I'm not experienced to say. Anyone care to share their opinions on how to deal with postflop overbets, and if it's ever worth making yourself?

Anyone with enough hand history to analyze, what does average fold to overbet% look like?
  • 6 replies
    • Berzerger
      Berzerger
      Bronze
      Originally posted by Catinthewall
      From all I've read in the poker strategy from this site, there's nothing dealing with overbets, either how to react to them, or when they're profitable to dish out.
      There are no specific articles on overbetting because it's situation dependent, doesn't happen too often and is usually bad play. By overbetting you're risking to lose more than you opt to win, so unless you have the (almost) nuts it doesn't even make sense. And even if you do, a potsize bet already guarantees max protection, so by overbetting you're saying "hey, look at me, I got a strong hand and I want to get it in! Will you be the sucker who pays me off?"

Originally posted by CatinthewallPretty much the only thing different for standard TAG play between NL and PL is preflop first raise is limited to 3.5+1 bb, rather than 4+1 bb.
      Preflop, usually anything more than 4+1 is a big flashing warning sign, so they're simply not profitable to play against without the nuts, unless you're dealing with a maniac on tilt.