Why buy-in only with 20BB or 100BB?

• ZexKK
      ZexKK
      Bronze
      Why does everyone recommend only SSS (with 20BB buy-in) or BSS (with 100BB buy-in)?

Here is how I played this month.
      When I had 50$ I played NL10 with 2$ buy-in. Auto re-buy was on, and I was leaving table when I had 3$ or 4$, not when I had 2.5$ (SSS rule).
      When I had 75$ I started playing with 3$ buy-in, when I had 100$ I started playing with 4$ buy-in.
      And it works well for me. I stick to 25BI rule , and I win more money when I buy-in with more money.

So why only 20BB buy-in or 100BB buy-in?
  • 11 replies
    • LudiCoka
      LudiCoka
      Bronze
      Hi,

20 bb for SSS because that way you can shove preflop after a raise effectively, it isn't too much as in your example when playing with 4$ on NL10.

If someone makes it $0.40 or $0.50 and then you shove $4, that is a huge overbet, unlikely you get called with worse hands.

max buy-in for BSS because then you can play speculative hands like 78s vs someone with a big stack, you get implied odds, and when you hit you can get more money for it.

Basically 35-70 bb's is very hard to play with at the table, because you have either too much to shove preflop after a raise and too little to make others pay you off really good when you hit and also too little to play speculative hands.
    • ZexKK
      ZexKK
      Bronze
      Thank you LudiCoka, that makes perfect sence.
      In this PS video's they just say always to buy in with 20BB or 100BB but they don't explain why.

My problem is that on Absolute poker where I am playing now, there is NL2 and next limit is NL10. I didn't wonted to play NL10 SSS until I have 250$ for BSS, so that's why I was playing with 30BB, 40BB, 50BB buy-in's.
    • Waiboy
      Waiboy
      Bronze
      Hey ZexKK

The 20BB is based on mathematical models. The model doesn't work over 25BB. Playing with 30BB is throwing away money!
    • ZexKK
      ZexKK
      Bronze