[NL2-NL10] nl10 FR - 44 rivered full, value 3bet + note

• BattleHunter
      BattleHunter
      Coach
      Coach
      Cake Poker No-Limit Hold'em, $0.10 BB (9 handed) - Cake-Poker Converter Tool from FlopTurnRiver.com

CO ($9.70)
      Button ($8.31)
      SB ($2.05)
      BB ($5.87)
      Hero (UTG) ($14.92)
      UTG+1 ($2.30)
      MP1 ($10.76)
      MP2 ($1.70)
      MP3 ($10)

Preflop: Hero is UTG with 4, 4
      Hero calls $0.10, 1 fold, MP1 bets $0.20, 6 folds, Hero calls $0.10

Flop: ($0.55) 3, A, Q (2 players)
      Hero checks, MP1 checks

Turn: ($0.55) 4 (2 players)
      Hero bets $0.35, MP1 calls $0.35

River: ($1.25) A (2 players)
      Hero bets $1, MP1 raises to $2, Hero raises to $5, MP1 calls $3

Total pot: $11.25 | Rake: $0.75

1st of all I know I shouldn't be limping UTG in FR game, because it's obvious that I either have small pocket or some suited connectors and I'll never get value off if I hit and when I don't hit I just waste money. I'm still learning and trying to adapt myself from SH, where this hand wouldve been an easy raise preflop utg :/

So I didn't know much about villain (this hand gives a lot of info tho), except that everyone was playing rather tight on the table. The small minraise, especially with a limper in the pot seemed really strange, as he never min raised before.

On the turn 3/4 might have been the better bet (instead of 2/3) but I wanted to keep the small pockets and Qx hands in there, as I believe only Ax would call 3/4.

The real question is the river. Given the action, my opponent most probably has an Ax type of hand and I'm pretty sure I beat a good percent of his range, so I really wanted to keep him in, so I raise him x2,5. Will Ax hands that I beat call me larger 3bet, or should I keep it like that in similar spots?

In the end villain had exactly what I put him on - AK. But his line makes no sense whatsoever! What note would you put on such villain?
  • 2 replies
    • johnbeattie85
      johnbeattie85