[NL2-NL10] New player seeks advice!

• Teyiebuns
      Teyiebuns
      Bronze
      Hey, I am very new to BSS and just looking for corrective actions on the hands I've played, badly. Very new to playing post-flop and I tend to wanna fold or shove.

Here is a hand I shoved on the flop to avoid anything tricky later on, I was happy with 4x my initial raise. What could I have done differently?

Hand converted with online PokerStrategy.com hand converter:

Play hand

$0.02/$0.05 No-Limit Hold'em (9 handed)

Known players:
      UTG1:
      $4.40
      UTG2:
      $5.76
      MP1 (Hero):
      $5.79
      MP2:
      $3.76
      MP3:
      $5.56
      CO:
      $10.71
      BU:
      $3.56
      SB:
      $10.12
      BB:
      $6.72

Preflop: Hero is MP1 with A, A.
      UTG1 folds, UTG2 raises to $0.20, Hero raises to $0.60, MP2 folds, MP3 calls $0.60, 3 folds, BB calls $0.55, UTG2 calls $0.40.

Flop: ($2.42) 4, 7, K (4 players)
      BB checks, UTG2 checks, Hero bets $5.19(All-In), MP3 folds, BB folds, UTG2 folds, Hero gets uncalled bet back.

Final Pot: $2.42.

What to do when have overpair, and you make decent bet, and villan re-raises me?

Hand converted with online PokerStrategy.com hand converter:

Play hand

$0.02/$0.05 No-Limit Hold'em (9 handed)

Known players:
      MP3:
      $10.69
      CO:
      $15.58
      BU:
      $5.37
      SB:
      $2.03
      BB:
      $2.00
      UTG1 (Hero):
      $6.84
      UTG2:
      $1.45
      MP1:
      $2.89
      MP2:
      $3.20

Preflop: Hero is UTG1 with K, K.
      Hero raises to $0.20, 4 folds, CO calls $0.20, 3 folds.

Flop: ($0.47) Q, 7, 9 (2 players)
      Hero bets $0.33, CO raises to $0.66, Hero raises to $6.64, CO folds, Hero gets uncalled bet back.

Final Pot: $1.13.
  • 2 replies
    • STR82ACE
      STR82ACE
      Bronze
      Although I think you might be pushing too much too fast in both cases, you played it correctly. You WANT to get all the money in preflop or on the flop with these hands.