[NL2-NL10] NL 25 - Semi-bluff push

    • Ohmu
      Ohmu
      Bronze
      Joined: 28.01.2007 Posts: 231
      Now then, on the turn, was that push profitable (if you didn't know what he was going to do)?
      Or was it just stupid?

      Known players: (for a description of vp$ip, pfr, ats, folded bb, af, wts, wsd or hands click here)
      UTG+2:
      $14.81
      MP3:
      $24.25
      SB:
      $21.56
      Hero:
      $4.90
      UTG+1:
      $4.63
      MP2:
      $11.30
      CO:
      $25.45
      BB:
      $5
      MP1:
      $4.75

      0.10/0.25 No-Limit Hold'em (9 handed)
      Hand recorder used for this poker hand: Texas Grabem 1.7 by www.pokerstrategy.cc.

      Preflop: Hero is BU with Q:club: , A:heart:
      UTG+1 folds, UTG+2 calls $0.25, MP1 folds, MP2 calls $0.25, 2 folds, Hero raises to $1.50, 2 folds, UTG+2 calls $1.25, MP2 folds.

      Flop: ($3.60) 5:spade: , J:diamond: , 5:heart: (2 players)
      UTG+2 checks, Hero checks.

      Turn: ($3.60) 5:diamond: (2 players)
      UTG+2 checks, Hero bets $3.40 (All-In), UTG+2 folds.

      Final Pot: $7.00
  • 3 replies
    • Chiller3k
      Chiller3k
      Bronze
      Joined: 16.06.2007 Posts: 4,326
      I would push the Flop (continuation Bet).
      The Turn is a bad spot for a bet. You showed weakness on the Flop, so he won't believe you the Jack. There's no strong Hand, you would play like that, I think he would have called you with any pocket pair.

      But I may be wrong, better wait for a Judge answer ;)
    • Berliner1982
      Berliner1982
      Bronze
      Joined: 12.07.2006 Posts: 5,644
      C-Bet the Flop. Even if you hold JJ here, C-bet the Flop, no reason not to do that. And on the Turn I would just check behind, unless I hold a Pocket Pair myself.
    • Kaitz20
      Kaitz20
      Bronze
      Joined: 02.02.2007 Posts: 27,343
      c-bet means all-in push. But this flop isn´t too bad for that, you maybe could think what kind of hand UTG lim/called. Some players would do that with low pocket pairs so that means they will probably check/call your push on the turn. I´ve would played that hand the same way.